In the Time it Takes to Read This Headline…Your PC Could Be Booted Up & Ready to Go!

October 5, 2009 at 8:01 pm Leave a comment

I recently toted my laptop with me to a family gathering, at which my grandmother asked me if I ever turn my computer off. I told her that I don’t, and when she asked why, I replied “Because then I’d have to wait for it to boot up.” When she asked how long ‘booting up’ takes, I was almost too embarassed to say, “About 30 seconds”.

She laughed, but my father agreed with me, adding that he never turns off the clumsy desktop PC at his law office because re-booting seems such a daunting task.

Ridiculous though it may sound, for whatever reason (Need for instant gratification?  Growing desensitization to the speed & convenience of technology?) the modern individual no longer possesses the patience to wait the half-minute necessary for these amazingly complex devices we call computers to go from zero to sixty.

And it’s not just an awkward conversation exacerbated by generational gaps. It is apparently a real enough issue that computer manufacturers have decided to take measures to remedy the situation.

The Gadget Lab on Wired.com reports that computer makers are making strides toward a new ‘quick boot-up’. In the not-so-distant future, your PC’s boot-up may only take as long as ‘a sip of tea’…Now that’s easy to swallow!

Read the full article now! (Don’t worry…it’s a quick read!)

Entry filed under: technology. Tags: , , , , , , .

PLM Bootcamp ’09 – New WordPress Blog! Fashionising.com for All Things ‘Fashion Week’

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About BMS

Business Management Systems (BMS) has been a leading provider of product lifecycle management software solutions to the apparel & textiles industry for 15 years, delivering VerTex Toolboxes--an easy-to-use modular system uniquely configured to meet every company's specific needs.

Here we blog about the things we know best--fashion, technology, PLM and more...


